Cooking this Weekend

July 18, 2014 § 2 Comments

norman rockwell studio the berkshires

Heading to your local farmers market this weekend? Going to the Dupont Farmers Market on Sunday is usually the highlight of my weekend. The vegetables! The samples! The dogs tied up everywhere waiting to be pet!

This weekend I’m in class on Saturday, so its going to be a real treat on Sunday to get outside and then do some cooking with whatever I haul home.

This may not come as a surprise given my propensity for routine, but I like to have a general plan before heading to the market. I tend to do some recipe searching ahead of time so I have an idea of what I might want to make. It makes shopping at the market more relaxing!

To help me in my recipe planning, I turn to FRESHFARM Markets’ guide to what’s in season each month (FRESHFARM Markets runs a lot of the farmers markets in the DC area). Martha Stewart also has a nice seasonal produce guide, with recipes by ingredient.

July highlights in the mid-atlantic region include apricots, beets, blackberries, eggplant, rhubarb, and tomatillos. Below are some recipes to help you plan your farmers market trip and make use of these summer gems.

What’s in season near you? What’s on your cooking list this weekend? Share in the comments!


Apricots

Beets

Blackberries

Eggplant

Rhubarb

Tomatillos

…and just for fun: 5 Reasons Why Your Partner Doesn’t Actually Want to Go to the Farmers Market With You

Happy weekend!

 

(Photo of Norman Rockwell’s studio in Stockbridge, MA)

 

 

Tagged: , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Cooking this Weekend

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cooking this Weekend at Three Meals and a Cookie.

meta

