Vacation Cooking

August 8, 2014 § 2 Comments

heart door charlottesville

Sam and I are headed to Martha’s Vineyard for the week with my parents and sister. I’ve been counting down to this week for months!

We have our relaxation down to a routine when we’re there–wake up, eat breakfast (fresh berries, yogurt, and granola brought from home, for me), take a walk down to the beach and back, think up (and debate) a dinner idea, shop for dinner at a farm stand or the local fish market, go back to the beach or take a long walk, then get down to cooking together with showers interspersed, eat dinner and hopefully a pie, watch a non-serious documentary on Netflix (this was the crowd favorite last year), sleep, repeat.

Can you tell it’s pretty food focused? I love the idea of thinking about and planning for dinner throughout the day. Jenny from Dinner a Love Story captures it perfectly here.

My mom and I love cooking together, and so this week each year is a really special treat. We’ve spent the last couple weeks thinking about what we want to make. Plus, there’s bound to be at least one rainy day where we can try out a more involved cooking project!

Here’s what’s on our list:

This quiche

This tart, or this one lightened up with greek yogurt instead of cream!

Homemade pizza, this one is inspiring

Many, many pies: strawberry rhubarb, blackberry, peach pistachio 

Lemon yogurt cake, maybe with some almond flour, more yogurt, and less oil

A fruit crisp, without the butter for my sake and my mom’s: this one is our go-to, swapping summer fruit for apples

Simple salads galore: whole wheat couscous with cherries & arugulatomato, corn, and herb summer salad; israeli salad with pita chips. I’ve also been obsessed with the idea of making a lox and rye bread panzanella, maybe it’ll happen this week!

For the grill: watermelon/apricots/peacheseggplant and tomato hobo pack (best name ever); kefta and zucchini kebabsfish tacosgrilled calamarichicken with apricot-miso glaze (I also want to try that glaze on tofu!)

Zucchini spaghetti with pumpkin seed pesto and peaches (hopefully our rental has a vegetable peeler!)

And, we’ll need some cocktails: my mom has requested these gin and tonics, and this sparkling peach sangria looks like a winner

 

Also…

Thanks for your nice comments, pictures of recipes you’ve tried on Instagram, via text, etc (some of my favorites are below). It is SO fun to see people trying my recipes.

Keep me posted (tag me on Instagram, or leave a comment) if you try a recipe and enjoy it. Any tweaks or clarification you would have liked along the way will help me make the recipe better for the next person, so feel free to share that info too!

Happy cooking, all!

text pi pizza (1) pi pizza text oatmeal cookies granola

 

 

 

§ 2 Responses to Vacation Cooking

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Vacation Cooking at Three Meals and a Cookie.

meta

