Mexican Corn Salad

August 27, 2014 § Leave a comment

mexican corn salad with greek yogurt

This recipe came to be when I was sitting on my couch, grouchy and tired after a couple of long weeks at work and helping Sam move. I was generally feeling sorry for myself, and thought the answer was to watch some trashy Bravo shows and eat peanut butter and jelly for dinner.

But as I tried to settle into my Bravo, I couldn’t relax and my bad mood wasn’t lifting. While my initial plan had been to avoid the kitchen, I remembered I had some fresh summer corn, and some cilantro and green onions about to meet their end in my fridge. I have been wanting to make a Mexican street corn (elote) salad for a while now, and all the ingredients were waiting for me.

 

 

I got my butt of the couch, started cooking, and found that the process of prepping and chopping the (very) few ingredients required for this recipe made my brain come out of the fog. Sometimes cooking is too much when life moves in, but sometimes, it’s just what we need.

spicy yogurt mixture for corn salad

cilantro, scallions, lime for corn salad

This quick side dish is packed with flavor. I’ve seen a lot of recipes online for Mexican street corn both on the cob and in salad form, but the recipes are usually heavy on the mayo and cheese. This one has nonfat Greek yogurt, and uses olive oil, salt, and garlic to replace the creaminess and tang of the cheese.

I ate this alongside these taquitos from Weelicious, which came to be because I had some extra filling left over from making these pockets and wanted to put it to use. I also made a quick salad with sliced avocado, cherry tomatoes, a squeeze of lime juice, and salt and pepper that went nicely with the spicy corn.

Whether you need a pick-me-up or just a quick and easy side dish for dinner tonight, I think this one will do the trick!

Mexican Corn Salad

Adapted from Skinny Taste

4 ears of corn

4 tablespoons nonfat Greek yogurt

4 garlic cloves, minced

1/2 teaspoon chili powder

juice from half a lime

1 1/2-2 teaspoons olive oil

1/4 cup chopped cilantro, loosely packed

3 scallions, sliced thinly

a few dashes of hot sauce (optional)

salt

  1. In a microwave safe bowl, cover corn with water and microwave for 7-9 minutes, until kernels give a bit when you press on them.
  2. Drain corn and let cool.
  3. Combine the yogurt, garlic, chili powder, lime juice, and 1/ 1/2 teaspoons olive oil in a medium-sized bowl.
  4. Cut the kernels off the cobs and add to the bowl.
  5. Add the cilantro, scallions, and a few dashes of hot sauce (if using), and combine.
  6. Season with salt to taste. Add additional 1/2 teaspoon olive oil if the salad needs a bit more creaminess.
  7. Serve alongside quesadillas, omelette tacos, taquitos, or whatever your favorite Mexican fare happens to be.

 

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Mexican Corn Salad at Three Meals and a Cookie.

meta

