Carrot Cake Cookies

September 8, 2014 § 3 Comments

carrot cake cookies

I’ve never met a healthy cookie I didn’t like. Cookies are portable, perfectly portioned all ready, and you can eat them for breakfast, snack, or dessert. These carrot cake cookies are my newest find, and I’m so glad I stumbled across them. I had a few carrots lying around from making veggie fajitas last week (will share that recipe soon, there’s a new trick I learned to give the veggies lots of flavor!), so I was on the hunt for a baked good that would use them up.

carrot cake cookie dry ingredients

I adapted Heidi Swanson’s Carrot Oatmeal Cookies (101 Cookbooks is my go-to blog for healthy cookie inspiration) and am currently very sad that I forgot to bring a few to work today. I miss them! They are sweet but not too sweet, and have a nice chewy texture from the oats and the shredded carrots. I added some chopped dates to them, because I didn’t quite have enough to make these cookies, and figured they would pair well with the flavors here. You could really add any nuts or dried fruit to these; they are a clean-out-your-fridge-and-pantry kind of cookie!

olive oil, maple syrup, and ginger

I plan on storing them in the freezer, like I do with all my cookies, and then zapping them in the microwave when I’m ready to eat one. Hope you enjoy these, and don’t forget to tote them with you wherever you go. I bet they would be tasty if you let them defrost in your bag and ate them at room temperature, too! In the comments of the original recipe, someone mentioned turning these into whoopie pies with a filling in between two cookies. Yes, please.

carrot cake cookie dough

carrot cake cookies on baking sheet

Carrot Cake Cookies

  • Servings: about 20 cookies
  • Print

Adapted from 101 Cookbooks

1/2 cup all purpose flour

1/2 cup whole wheat flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

scant 1/2 teaspoon sea salt

1 cup rolled oats

2/3 cup chopped walnuts

1 cup shredded carrots (it took about 3 medium sized carrots to produce 1 cup shredded for me, using the side of a box grater with the largest holes)

3-4 medjool dates, pitted and roughly choped

1/2 cup maple syrup

1/2 cup olive oil

1 teaspoon grated ginger (fresh, not powdered. I used my microplane to grate it.)

  1. Heat oven to 375 degrees and cover two baking sheets with parchment paper.
  2. Add flours, baking powder, salt, and oats to a large bowl and whisk to combine.
  3. Add the walnuts, carrots, and dates.
  4. In a liquid measuring cup, pour the maple syrup to the half cup line. Then, pour in the olive oil until you have 1 cup of liquid.
  5. Add the grated ginger to the liquid and whisk to combine.
  6. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients. Use a wooden spoon to incorporate all the ingredients. Don’t overmix! You just want everything distributed evenly.
  7. Scoop a level tablespoon of dough and drop onto the prepared baking sheets. Continue with the remaining dough, and leave about 2 inches between each cookie.
  8. If the cookies aren’t quite staying together, use a fork to push them together a bit.
  9. Bake the cookies for 10-12 minutes, until golden brown on the top and bottom. I made mine a bit bigger, so they took closer to 14-16 minutes to bake. Just check them on the earlier side so they don’t burn.
  10. Store in a tupperware in the fridge or in freezer bags in the freezer.

Tagged: , ,

§ 3 Responses to Carrot Cake Cookies

  • Sami says:

    yes please!

    Like

  • Pattie Heyman says:

    these are the BEST cookies and seem reasonably healthy. I don’t usually bake cookies because I am tempted to eat too many. This recipe appealed to me because of the ingredients, and they are so delicious. I love the flavor or the ginger and the salt and the olive oil! I really enjoy Three Meals and a Cookie!

    Like

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Carrot Cake Cookies at Three Meals and a Cookie.

meta

