Baked Carrot & Parsnip Shoestring Fries

October 29, 2014 § Leave a comment

baked parsnip and carrot shoestring friesThese veggie fries are so easy it’s silly. I often use up any parsnips rolling around in my produce drawer in this way, but this time I also had some carrots so I decided to turn those into fries too!

It’s funny how just cutting up your vegetables in a different way can totally shake up your dinner routine. My go-to is to cut up root vegetables in wedges, but by cutting them into skinny fries, they cook faster AND get a real crisp to them.parsnips and carrots for fries

I like to amp up the flavor with dried herbs–rosemary or oregano are both excellent choices. I devoured these straight off the baking sheet, but if you have more willpower than me, you could make a dipping sauce for them. I bet a combo of Greek yogurt, hot sauce, garlic, and lemon or lime juice would be delicious.

Also, have you watched A Chef’s Life yet? If not, you are missing out. I would also recommend that you make the butterbean veggie burger from the show to accompany these fries. It’s on my cooking to-do list, which is the only good kind of to-do list, if you ask me.

Baked Carrot & Parsnip Shoestring Fries

Adapted from Bon Appetit

Note: I just use up whatever amount of produce I have in my fridge. Depending on the size of your carrots and parsnips, you can get about 4-6 fries out of each carrot/parsnip. This recipe is such a cinch, I’m not even including amounts. You seriously can’t mess this up.

You will need:

  • Carrots
  • Parsnips
  • Olive oil
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Dried herbs (rosemary, oregano, thyme, etc)
  1. Place a baking sheet in the oven and preheat the oven to 450 degrees.
  2. Rinse and peel the carrots and parsnips. Cut off the stem and bottom tip of each vegetable, and then cut into thin strips. I find it easiest to cut the carrots/parsnips into two pieces before slicing into thin strips, it just makes them easier to handle on the cutting board.
  3. When the oven is heated, remove the baking sheet, drizzle the baking sheet with olive oil, and add the fries to the pan. Season with salt, pepper, and dried herbs. Use a spatula to move everything around so the fries are coated in the oil and spices.
  4. Bake for 10 minutes, then flip the fries as best you can with a spatula and roast for another 10-15 minutes. You want the fries to be crispy and browned in spots, so don’t pull them out too soon!

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Baked Carrot & Parsnip Shoestring Fries at Three Meals and a Cookie.

meta

