Smoky White Bean, Tomato & Kale Bake

November 6, 2014 § Leave a comment

smoky kale white bean tomato bake

Oh, this is a good one. All my favorite foods, two of which are pantry items, mixed up in a dish and baked until crispy. All you have to do is make a 5 minute tomato sauce with some fire-roasted canned tomatoes, chop up some kale, drain some beans, and let your oven do the work. It’s warm, comforting and so so quick.

I threw this together on election day in between running to the polls before they closed and studying for my finance quiz. On my commute home I was starting to convince myself I didn’t have enough time to cook anything but shakshuka. But, I had bought kale specifically for this recipe and didn’t want it to wilt on me before I had a chance to get to it, so I pushed myself do the task I hate the very most: washing and drying and cutting up greens.

It went faster than I had thought (which always happens, it’s the anticipation that’s the worst) and the process helped reset my brain after a long work day. It was worth it to take the time to make myself something good and good for me.

Home cooking for the win, once again.

White Bean, Tomato & Kale Bake

Adapted from 101 Cookbooks

Note: You could do this with dried beans as well if you soak them overnight and then have the time to cook them for a couple of hours on the stove. I’m sure this would add even more creaminess and texture to the dish, but I found canned to work just fine.

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • red pepper flakes (a couple big shakes if you like spice, or just a pinch if you prefer your sauce more mild)
  • 42 ounces canned fire-roasted diced tomatoes (3 14-oz cans or 1 28-oz can and 1 14-oz can)
  • 1 tablespoon oregano
  • a couple pinches of salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 bunch kale, washed, stems removed, and sliced thinly (I used kitchen scissors to cut the kale into thin slivers)
  • 2 cans white beans, rinsed, drained, and patted dry (I used great northern, you can also use cannellini or corona)
  • 1/2 cup salty cheese (feta, manchego, parmesan)
  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees.
  2. Add the olive oil, garlic, and red pepper flakes to a large saute pan and heat over medium heat. Stir and cook for just about a minute, watching the garlic carefully so it doesn’t burn.
  3. Add the diced tomatoes to the pan, then the oregano, salt, and pepper and simmer for about 5 minutes.
  4. In a 9×13 pan, add the kale, then the tomato sauce and the beans. Stir together so the kale wilts a little from the heat of the tomatoes and everything is combined. Sprinkle with cheese.
  5. Bake in the top third of the oven for 25-40 minutes. Mine went about 35 minutes. You want the beans to have some crisp to them, and don’t want the bake to be too liquidy.
  6. Let cool for 10 minutes and serve with toasted crusty bread and a dollop of pesto.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Smoky White Bean, Tomato & Kale Bake at Three Meals and a Cookie.

meta

